Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

A close friend of mine texted me today while I was out walking. She asked me, “Is there such thing as a healthy but good tasting cookie?” In other words there was a baking emergency, and being the darling I am I decided to invent a recipe for her within a few hours. And so the emergency post is born, I shall post a new recipe every Saturday (coming up next, perfect vegan pizza crust) but in those rare moments of cooking panic I may just come to the rescue of those in need. Think of me as superwoman.. for your kitchen.

So, what did I come up with you ask? Thank you, you’re too kind. I give you dear reader, a chocolate chip peanut butter cookie.

5

Ingredients.

1

3/4 c. finely ground almonds

1 c. dark chocolate chips

1 c. peanut butter

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tbs. coconut oil (this is purely optional)

1/3 c. honey

2 eggs

2

As I tend to be thrifty in all things including my kitchen I don’t buy almond flour although I am going to try to make my own eventually. At the moment I merely grind whole almonds in my incredibly useful Magic Bullet and then sift the grounds using only the fine powder. If your kitchen is bereft of this little piece of kitchen technology a high powered blender or food processor should do the trick as well.

3

Preheat your oven to 375F.

Mix all ingredients together in a medium sized mixing bowl, the mixture may seem runny don’t panic. After mixing everything together place the bowl of cookie dough in the freezer for ten minutes to allow it to thicken enough to place on a cookie sheet. Once removed from the freezer place the cookies on a pan  with a spoon, whatever size you desire. If you want four giant cookies, be my guest. As these cookies are half peanut butter they already contain a lot of oil, even more so if you’ve added the coconut oil as well. There isn’t very much need to grease the pan, I did, but oil ended up pooling around the cookies.

4  

Bake the cookies for 25-30 minutes and then allow to cool. The insides will be chewy, so you may bake them for longer if you wish.

Lastly, enjoy. I dare you not to eat them all in one sitting.. they are that good.

6

Happy baking!

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

Leave a Reply

