Perfect Pizza Crust (So Delicious® Dairy Free 2013 Recipe Contest Entry)

I love pizza. No, really I do. I don’t like using the word love out of hand. I don’t love my socks, my shoes, or even my bed. Okay, I may love my bed. The point is, I love pizza. When I first went gluten and then starch free my dreams of eating my favourite food fizzled into the land of cardboard and tears. Around a year ago I discovered So Delicious® products, namely Coconut milk and Coconut Ice Cream and I realized I had another love besides pizza… anything they created. So here I am, entering what may be the most exciting contest (the only one I’ve ever done yet) of my cooking career.

Drumroll.

The So Delicious® Dairy Free 2013 Recipe Contest.

Perfect (Vegan) Pizza Crust 

10pizza

Ingredients.

1pizza

2pizza

1/2 c. garbanzo bean flour

3/4 c. coconut flour

1/3 c. finely ground flax

1 c. finely ground whole almonds (sifted)

1 c. cooked white kidney beans

1 c. So Delicious® Coconut Milk

2 tsp. onion powder

1 tsp. garlic powder

1 1/2 tsp. oregano

1 1/2 tsp. basil

cayenne to taste

sea salt to taste

Instructions.

Preheat your oven to 375F.

Place the first four ingredients in a a large mixing bowl.

Blend the remaining ingredients together in a blender or food processor until smooth.

3pizza

Pour the wet mixture into the dry ingredients and mix well until the dough begins to clump together.

4pizza

Now it is time to get your hands dirty. Wash your hands thoroughly and then dig in. Knead the dough together thoroughly. The end texture should not feel crumbly, but instead should be slightly spongy. Add coconut milk by teaspoon if your mixture is initially too dry. Once fully kneaded together your dough should form a large ball which is ready to roll out.

5pizza

Place the dough ball on a floured pan. I use a large pizza stone which is wonderful, but if you do not have one simply flour a large cookie sheet or pizza pan. I use coconut flour but almond flour would work just as well. With your hands begin to flatten the ball of dough slowly spreading it out into a large circle (or whatever shape you desire). This makes a very large pizza so it could easily be spread between two small pans.

6pizza

Once you have pressed your dough ball about half way to its desired size sprinkle a little flour over the top and finish rolling it out with a rolling pin. I roll it to around a quarter of an inch thick. Once rolled out pre-bake your crust for 30 minutes at 375F then remove from the oven.

7pizza

Your crust should be firm and lift easily if you pick up the edge. You may now add sauce, toppings, soy cheese or anything you so desire before baking it again for 30 minutes to an hour depending on your toppings.

8pizza

9pizza 11pizza

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Perfect Pizza Crust (So Delicious® Dairy Free 2013 Recipe Contest Entry)

  1. Pingback: 100+ Vegan Recipes: From Sweet Cheesecakes to Savory Entrees

Leave a Reply

