Mayan Chocolate Pie (So Delicious® Dairy Free 2013 Recipe Contest Entry)

In most ways I do not consider myself the typical female. I can’t really stand malls, clothes shopping gives me a headache, I only wear make-up on days I care enough to put in an effort, and the lightest dumbbell I ever lift is 10lb. Not to say my sex is weak or frivolous, I happen to prefer it. No offence to my male readers. You know what I’m digging myself a hole with a measuring cup, I’m going to change the subject.

Anyway, like the stereotype likes to say… I am addicted to chocolate. I am a bit of a chocolate snob though. Hand me any average candy bar and I won’t even look at it. If sugar comes before cocoa in the ingredient list I won’t eat it. Period. So when I discovered the movie Chocolat with Johnny Depp you can  imagine that I rented it the next day and watched it with my boyfriend. It’s a wonderful movie I’d recommend it, as long as you have dark chocolate nearby that is. As I am currently entering recipes into the  So Delicious® Dairy Free 2013 Recipe Contest I instantly thought that I needed to create something with dark chocolate and cayenne pepper because what is better with a rich romantic bite of dark chocolate than a little hot red passion?

Mayan Chocolate Pie (The Dark Chocolate Pie With the Passion Baked In)

Pie1

 

Ingredients.

Pie Crust

Pie3

3/4 c. finely ground almonds

1/2 c. coconut flour

2 tsp. cinnamon

1/8 c. So Delicious® Regular Coconut Milk

1/4 c. coconut oil

 

Pie Filling

Pie2

Pie1

2 c. So Delicious® Vanilla Coconut Milk

2 tbs. Vanilla

5 tbs. Corn starch

1/2 c. Agave nectar

1/8 – 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper (for those like me who like some heat, use 1/4 for anyone else use 1/8)

1 c. cocoa

 

Instructions.

Preheat your oven to 375F.

In a bowl combine all pie crust ingredients.

Pie4

Mix thoroughly with a fork until well mixed and crumbly.

Pie5

Now go wash your hands, dry them and dig in. Mash the dough together until you are sure it is thoroughly kneaded together and form a rough ball. Place the ball in a greased 9″ pie plate. Don’t worry if it seems crumbly.

Pie6

Using your fingers mash the crust down until it completely and evenly covers the entire pie plate. This will take awhile, be patient. Good things come to those who take the time to press their pie crust properly.

Pie7

Put your pie crust to the side and begin the chocolate pudding filling.

In a saucepan combine all ingredients except cayenne and cornstarch on medium heat, stirring constantly until the cocoa is dissolved in and the mixture comes to a slow boil.

Pie8

Add your cayenne and stir thoroughly.

Pie9

Once your mixture is well mixed and boiling turn the heat down to low and add in your cornstarch which you have wisely dissolved in water. Once the pudding becomes thick and heavy remove from heat and pour into your waiting pie crust.

Pie10

Pie11

Now place your pie in the oven and bake for 25-30 minutes until the top of the pie becomes dark and crater like.

Pie12

Pie13

Allow the pie to cool off for an hour or two before serving with So Delicious® Coconut Ice Cream or fresh fruit.

Pie2

Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Mayan Chocolate Pie (So Delicious® Dairy Free 2013 Recipe Contest Entry)

  1. I am also sensitive to corn, rice, etc so this was a bit of a cheat for me. I’m not sure how rice fllour thickens so I can’t reccomend a proportion, you could also use arrowroot starch to thicken as well as arrowroot works well with acids. Tell me how it works out! =)

  2. Pingback: 100+ Vegan Recipes: From Sweet Cheesecakes to Savory Entrees

Leave a Reply

