Perfect Paleo Quiche

I enjoy wearing the colour yellow. It’s bright, cheery and it always improves my mood. So of course the recipe for this week is Quiche. When I began my journey of cooking in full around the age of twelve a favourite of anyone who ever came over for dinner was my Quiche. My motto was that I could get any man to eat Quiche and love it, and I did. As I began shifting my mindset and my diet away from starches, grains and wheat there was always the nagging thought in the back of my mind that I couldn’t lose my title as the Queen of Quiche. I’m just a little competitive about my cooking so the idea of having to let even one dish leave my repertoire was devastating. Fortunately my culinary genius has saved me once again (wink), and here for your cooking pleasure is a now cleaner more delicious (and dairy free) version of that food that will make even the strongest of manly men weak in the knees.

Real men do eat quiche.

While preparing to write this post I had a dear friend visiting who happens to love photography and food as much as I do. She graciously took photos for me while I was cooking which cut back on the time I usually spend creating a post as well as adding a new and artistic perspective. This post will have around twice as many photos as usual, so if you’re looking at it on your phone, I apologize this may take awhile to load. Happy cooking and here goes!

I should also note that this is a double recipe which will make two 9″ quiche, they freeze well so feel free to either cut the recipe in half or stick one in the freezer for later.

 

Perfect Paleo Quiche.

Quiche18

 

Ingredients. 

Crust. 

Quiche1

1 1/2 c. finely ground almonds

1 c. coconut flour

1/4 c. (plus more to feel) So Delicious® Regular Coconut Milk

1/2 c. coconut oil

 

Filling. 

Quiche5

Quiche4

2 c. finely chopped raw bacon

2 c. chopped onion

2 c. chopped mushrooms

2 c. finely chopped spinach

1 1/2 c. cubed tomatoes

1 tsp. (heaping) onion powder

1 tsp. (heaping) garlic powder

cayenne to taste

1/2 c. mayo

8 eggs

 

Instructions. 

Preheat your oven to 375F.

Gather together your pie crust ingredients and pour them in a large bowl.

Quiche3

Mash together your ingredients with a fork until well mixed and the crust appears crumbly.

Quiche6

Now like with so many other things I make, it is time to get your hands dirty. Wash your hands and get them in there.

Quiche7

Begin mixing the dough with your hands until you can feel that there are no lumps of coconut oil left. Once the mixture feels thoroughly mixed and begins sticking together it is time to add extra coconut milk. Add coconut milk around a tablespoon at a time, mixing with your hands.

Quiche8

 

Quiche9

Once your dough can form soft balls that aren’t crumbly and and stick together you have reached the right consistency. As this is a double recipe it is best to split the dough into two balls in preparation of pressing them into pie pans. Grease two 9″ pie pans and place your dough balls in the pans, then using your palms and fingers begin pressing the dough down and around the sides of the pan. It may take awhile, be patient the end result will be worth it.

Quiche11

Quiche12

Quiche13

 

Quiche14

Set aside your finished crust (or as I did, begin your filling before you make the pie crust) and begin to make your quiche’s filling. Chop the bacon and veggies, placing the bacon and onions into a large frying pan on medium to high heat and begin to sauté together. Add the other veggies and cook them together until the bacon is well browned and the onions and mushrooms are cooked. 

Quiche2

Quiche10

While your veggies and bacon are cooking combine the rest of your filling ingredients in a large bowl and  mix with an egg beater or beat thoroughly with a fork or whisk. The mayo and cayenne like to clump in the eggs so an egg beater is your best bet unless you have a strong arm. Once your egg mixture is well combined and your bacon and veggies are cooked through place the bacon and veggies in your prepared pie crusts. Then pour your egg mixture over top and you are ready for baking.

Quiche16

Quiche17

Bake the quiche for 40 minutes or until a toothpick comes away from the center cleanly. Eat and serve immediately (although, chilled in the fridge the next morning the leftovers make an absolutely divine breakfast, just hide them well or you might have to share).

Quiche19

Enjoy!

Shandi

Leave a Reply

