Hearty Waffles

I am a morning person. I am not a coffee person. While the two may seem like contradictions they really aren’t. Sunrises make me feel alive and energized. Getting up after 7 am makes the rest of the day feel like some mad rush to the middle of nowhere. In case my food blog and mouthwatering pictures have not yet let on, I also quite like food. I like to eat food almost as much as I like to cook it, which is quite a lot more than you are currently imagining. Despite my love of mornings and food I hate eating in the morning. I loathe it. I stare at my refrigerator with a strange kind of disdain daring it to irritate me. It never fails to do so. I open the fridge and glance around, then because closing the door and reopening it quickly is the magical way to make something I feel like eating appears, I open and close the door four more times. So in order to solve my existential food crisis each morning, I bought a waffle maker. Currently the twenty dollars to buy that small kitchen appliance still ranks as the best money I’ve spent in months. It may make my year. Of course you are now waiting with agony to see this delightful recipe so I shall keep you no longer.

Hearty Waffles.

Waffles8

Ingredients.

Waffles1

1 1/2-3/4 c. So Delicious Coconut Milk

1 1/2 c. finely ground almonds

4 (or 3 large ones) eggs

3/4 c. coconut flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tbs. cinnamon

1 tbs. vanilla

Instructions.

Pour all of your ingredients together in a large mixing bowl. Mix the ingredients together thoroughly. The mixture will seem thick and heavy — this is okay. While you may feel the paranoid desire to continue adding liquid until it seems more like a batter, don’t, I have already made this mistake for you three times. You are making hearty waffles which will fill you up and power you for the day, take a deep breath and trust that this will work out.

Waffles2

Once your batter is prepared, heat your waffle iron and grease it. (I use coconut oil.)

Waffles3

Pour your batter in. As waffle irons come in many shapes and sizes I cannot coach you on how much batter you should pour per waffle, using my small square waffle iron I pour 1/3 of a cup for each waffle. You may need more, or less, experiment with it. This recipe makes 10 waffles using my waffle iron.

Waffles4

Waffles5

Your batter will not pour smoothly and it will seem thick and heavy sitting on your waffle iron, but I promise it works. Close your iron and allow it to cook until done (once again, not all waffle irons are the same follow the instructions for yours). Then viola! Open it up and see that I have not lied to you and that in fact you are now the proud creator of real life waffles.

Waffles6

Serve hot to your family, or yourself and enjoy with real maple syrup (this is an obligatory statement as a Canadian) or whatever other delicious topping you so desire or have in your fridge.

Waffles7

Waffles9

Enjoy and happy eating!

Shandi

4 thoughts on “Hearty Waffles

  1. I reduced around 2 cups of raw rhubarb with 4 cups of frozen strawberries and honey (I think around half a cup) to taste, for five or six hours until it was thickened. =)

  2. Is your measurement for the almonds pre- or post- ground? Ie: Are they already ground when measuring or do you measure first and THEN grind?

Leave a Reply

