Biscuits (Paleo and Vegan)

I spent this morning in the sun pulling weeds and putting clippings into large paper bags. A word of advice for other short people doing yard work, the only way to fully open those large bags is to place them entirely over your body. Yes, for awhile this morning I had a giant paper bag over my head, and stomach, and knees… really all that was showing were my ankles. After my not so gruelling morning I had the privilege of cooling of by drinking freshly made mint tea and discussing the real food movement in today’s society with the one and only tried and true food forest-er in Canada and his wonderful wife. As we talked they spoke of the joy they find in watching my generation become aware and creative about health, farming, gardening and the act of real living. I in turn found their inspiration inspiring and was reminded how beautiful the blending of old and new can truly be. As I begin this new food blog adventure I am breaking new ground and while I love what I do, it is hardly an understatement to say that not everyone understands what I am doing or trying to accomplish with each word I write and every dish I pour hours into.

So here is a culmination of both old and new. A warm, chewy biscuit perfect to eat right out of the oven with coconut oil and fruit preserves. And for a new twist, I have made my biscuits both vegan and (mostly) paleo as well. I hope you enjoy them as much as I and my family do. I’ve already made them four times and they never last longer than a few hours!

Biscuits16

Servings: 6 biscuits

Prep time: 20 minutes

Baking time: 15 minutes

Ingredients. 

Biscuits1

1 1/4 c. almond flour

1/2 c. arrowroot flour

1/4 c. coconut flour (plus a few tablespoons on the side)

1/4 – 1/3  c. coconut milk

1/3 c. coconut oil

2 tb. coconut sugar

1 tb. baking powder

1/2 tsp. sea salt

 

Instructions. 

Preheat your oven to 425F.

Biscuits2

Place all ingredients except coconut milk in a large bowl and begin mashing together with a fork until the mixture appears grainy and in tiny lumps.

Biscuits3

Now slowly add your coconut milk a few tablespoons at a time still loosely mixing with a fork.

Biscuits4

You will knead your dough later so the point is to absorb the liquid not to mix thoroughly. Once your dough begins to form a lump and pulls away from the edges of the bowl you have enough coconut milk and you are ready for the next step, I’ve made this recipe three times now and have found that the biscuits turn out far better if the dough is a little sticky so don’t be afraid if you feel you’ve added too much milk.

Biscuits5

Now using your extra coconut flour lightly flour a clean counter or flat surface then press together the dough ball lightly with your hands and deposit on your floured surface.

Biscuits6

Now you will need to knead your dough 15 to 20 times. If your dough is a bit sticky simply sprinkle it with  more coconut flour and knead it in until the dough no longer sticks to your hands or the counter. Once you have kneaded the dough well pat it down with your hands until it is around half a centimetre thick (about the height of a dime). You can leave the dough a bit thicker if you’d like, but of course the recipe will make less biscuits if you do so.

Biscuits8

Biscuits9

Now it is time to cut your biscuits. I used the smallest drinking glass I could find in my house but feel free to use cookie cutters or larger glasses if you so desire. Press the mouth of the drinking glass as close to the edge of the dough as you can so you will have more space to cut the next biscuit. As you press down you will feel some resistance and hear a rush of air, this is from the baking powder as it has begun filling the dough with air bubbles. Personally that is my favourite part of making biscuits.

Biscuits10

You should be able to remove the biscuit by gently shaking the glass until it falls into your hand. Continue cutting your biscuits until your dough is full of holes.

Biscuits11

Gently gather the dough together in your hands and pat it out again, cutting biscuits until there is no dough left. I usually make the last biscuit by hand. Place your biscuits on a greased pan and place them in the oven.

Biscuits13

Bake for 15-20 minutes at 425F until they begin to lightly brown on the edges. I like to bake my biscuits for around 16-17 minutes so that they are still soft and moist in the middle and firm on the outside.

Biscuits14

Take your biscuits out of the oven and serve them with your favourite toppings, or use them to make breakfast sandwiches.

Biscuits15

Enjoy!

Shandi

Leave a Reply

