Sprout Spaghetti

I love the gym, I guess you could even call me a gym junkie. I love the rhythm of my loud music while I do crossfit lifts and ignore anyone around me. The only problem with working out alone in a gym and lifting weights heavier than 20lb as a woman is that old men will either try to flirt their way into your heart or show you how weak you are by lifting more than you did. Avoiding awkward eye contact when sweat is pouring down your face and your hair is a mess, well, I decided that if I was going to spend my summer active I needed to add to my gym workouts by running. When you’re running you can’t stop long enough for anyone to say hello. Summer passes by too quickly, warm days too easily turn to snow banks. Who wants to spend the summer slaving in the kitchen? Well, I do. But what average person wants to spend their sunny afternoon in the kitchen? No one. So, here by popular request (three people, but I still say that is popular request) is a fast easy recipe replacement for heavy pasta. I’m a huge fan of tomato sauce but I don’t really enjoy eating it alone. Zuchini pasta while wonderful just takes too much preparation when I want a fast meal.

Warning: this post mainly consists of the evolution of the onion.

You’ll see.

 

sketti14

Ingredients.

sketti1

Sprout Spaghetti

5 c. sprouts (use your favourites, I prefer bean sprouts)

2 sm. or 1 lg. onion “ringed”; cut and separated into rings as if you were making onion rings

2 tb. olive oil

1 tb. onion powder

1 tb. garlic powder

1 tb. honey or agave nectar

 

Spicy Tomato Sauce

4 c. pre-made tomato sauce

1 lb. browned ground beef

1 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. cayenne

 

Instructions. 

In a large saucepan combine all ingredients for the Tomato sauce and cook on medium heat for the duration of the time you cook the Sprout Spaghetti, stirring often.

sketti2

Heat a large skillet with the olive oil on medium heat.

sketti3

Add the onions evenly over the bottom of the skillet so they can all brown evenly.

sketti4

Stir the onions consistently so that they brown on all sides and do not burn to the pan.

sketti5

Once the onions have shrunk by about of a third of the size they were originally and begin to brown around the edges it is time to add the honey to the pan to help the onions caramelize.

sketti6

Once the honey is added stir constantly to keep the sugar from burning to the bottom of the pan and the onions evenly coated.

sketti7

Once your onions have shrunk to half the size they were when you began you are ready to add the sprouts to the skillet.

sketti8

Begin slowly stirring the onions and the sprouts together.

sketti9

Now it is time to add the onion and garlic powder.

sketti10

Continue stirring everything together consistently until the entire skillet has reduced by about half.

sketti11

sketti12

As you have been consistently stirring your sauce it will be done at the same time as your sprout spaghetti and ready to eat together. Simple and delicious.

sketti13

Enjoy!

Shandi

One thought on “Sprout Spaghetti

  1. I am so excited to try this! What a great idea, and I LOVE onions 🙂
    This is going on my meal plan for this week!

Leave a Reply

