Butter Tarts (Paleo Style)

My love of food and cooking in many ways was sparked by my grandmothers. One of my favourite desserts was always a Canadian classic, a butter tart. The flaky crust, the rich sweet filling, the creamy raisins. So I have of course been obsessed with creating my own paleo version for months. The tart crusts are hit and miss from tart to tart, sometimes sticking to the pan and sometimes coming away perfectly, however, they still taste amazing so I am sharing this recipe today. The key to keeping your tarts together is hitting the perfect tart shell thickness, which is about the thickness of two pennies, however this is not always easy to repeat. My perfectionist nature has been berating me for a week for even considering sharing a recipe that sometimes literally falls to pieces, yet, as my grandmothers taught me, sometimes the best things you can possibly eat are the broken cookies too hot off the pan. So enjoy my bit of Canadian madness and don’t cry over shattered tarts if one or two of yours fall apart, that’s just another excuse to eat one more, or ten. Have fun, and happy baking!

 

tarts6

tarts5

Paleo Butter Tarts

Prep time: 40 min

Baking time: 20 min

Cooling time: 60 min

Servings: 12-15

Ingredients.

BTarts1

1 1/2 c. almond flour or finely ground almonds

1 c. coconut flour

1 c. coconut milk

1/4 c. coconut oil

Btarts2

2 c. raisins

3 lg. eggs

1/2 c. honey

3 tbs. coconut oil

1 tbs. vanilla

2 tsp. lemon juice

 

Instructions.

Preheat your oven to 375F.

Combine the crust ingredients in a large mixing bowl.

btarts3

Using a fork mash the ingredients together until they are crumbly and well mixed.

btarts4

Now using your hands thoroughly knead the crust together, forming a large ball. If your crust feels too moist place it in the freezer for ten minutes allowing the coconut oil to cool, and the flour to absorb more moisture.

btarts5

Using your hands break grape to ping pong sized balls of dough away and place them in a well greased muffin pan.

btaRTS7

Using your fingers gently press the dough into the sides of the muffin tin and bring it up into a ridge along the sides by gently pinching the dough. You will want the dough to be about two pennies thick on the bottom and the sides.

btarts9

Once you have painstakingly pressed all of the tarts into your pan/s (depending on the size of your muffin tins you will have more or less tarts than I did, which was just over a dozen). It is time to pre bake them.

btarts10

Bake at 375F for 12-15 minutes until the tarts start to pull away from the sides of the muffin tins.

tarts1

While the tarts cool off to one side it is time to begin the filling. Begin by covering your raisins with water and letting them soak for 20 minutes.

btarts6

Next crack the eggs into a bowl and mix vigorously with a fork until a smooth mixture is formed (if your eggs seem small feel free to add 1/4 of coconut milk at this stage).

btarts8

In a large saucepan melt down the coconut oil, honey, and vanilla on medium heat until they are completely melted together.

btarts12

Once your raisins are done soaking carefully drain them and add them to the melted coconut oil mixture. Stir together until the raisins are well coated allowing to cook for around five minutes.

btarts13

Now carefully pour the egg mixture into the saucepan stirring constantly to keep the eggs from cooking in clumps.

btarts14

btarts15

Continue stirring the mixture on medium heat until you can pull your mixing spoon away and see the filling coating the spoon itself.

btarts16

Allow your mixture to cool for five to ten minutes before carefully spooning it into each tart. Begin by filling each tart about 3/4s of the way full, topping the tarts up once all the tarts are filled.

tarts2

tarts3

Now return your tarts to the oven for five to seven minutes at 375F. At the end of the seven minutes switch your oven settings to broil on high for 30-60 seconds monitoring carefully so as not to burn the edges of your tarts. Then remove and allow to cool for an hour before devouring them all in one sitting. Don’t give me that look, I know you will. I did.

tarts4

Enjoy!

Shandi

10 thoughts on “Butter Tarts (Paleo Style)

  1. I am not following your directions. You image shows the two flours, and oil as the crust. You directions state to mix the eggs with the milk but the picture shows the milk with the crust ingredients. I hope I.am right in adding the milk to the egg mixture for the filling.

    • You are right, I made a slight mistake in the directions! Sorry for the confusion. =(

      You only need to add milk to your egg mixture if you are afraid you won’t have enough to spread between your tarts. It all comes down to the size of your eggs, if like me you have access to large eggs no additional milk is needed. Thank you for pointing this out!

      I hope your tarts turn out. =)

  2. We always had butter tarts as a Christmas treat. Since going gluten free 5 years ago (celiac disease), we haven’t made any butter tarts 😦 Thanks to your recipe, I can bring back a long standing tradition. Thanks.

    • I am so glad to hear this! I can remember my grandmother always having scads of butter tarts every Christmas and I always snuck as many of them from the kitchen as I could. There is something so beautifully bonding about sharing food together, especially food that has been passed down through the generations. =)

  3. hi there,
    I am just wondering why your recipe pre-cooks the tart shells? does it not work out if you put the filling into the raw pastry dough and cook all at once?

    • That’s a great question! I’ve never tried it, although my reasoning was that the tart filling would absorb into the shell even moreso than it already does to the point the filling and the tart wouldn’t be separate. Coconut flour is incredibly absorbent and if not precooked your tart won’t want to hold together as it will likely have taken in so much liquid from the filling.

      I hope this helps. =)

    • I have no idea, you could definitely try. If you want to know if the shells could work to house any type of filling – then yes. You can definitely tell that there is coconut, but it isn’t a nauseating coconut flavour by any means. I’m not the biggest coconut fan at all and I like it.

Leave a Reply

