Magic Chocolate Bites

I think it is safe to say that I am addicted to chocolate. Coffee, no. Chocolate, yes. Chocolate for breakfast? You’re too kind. Chocolate for dinner? Darling, come home with me. From my research I have learned that in fact a certain compound in chocolate, which I am currently too lazy too Google (I realize this makes me the laziest person on the planet, I can type a blog post but I can’t move my mouse an inch and click) has the same addictive qualities as crack cocaine. Cacao itself is also great for you, so forget how addictive it is. Nothing wrong with some harmless chocoholic syndrome. Right?

As a student (nearly graduated I might add, but still a student for one blasted — I mean blessed semester) there are times I don’t have time to cook, or energy, or both. During the school year I tend to make one large meal on the weekend and eat it the duration of the week. I will admit this gets old after two days, but one does what one must to survive the hallowed halls of greater learning etc. etc. etc. So like most things in like, I solve my woes with chocolate. Seriously. What kind of a person doesn’t do that? A dangerous one, that’s who.

Anyway, back to what I was saying. Sometimes energy to cook is hard to come by so I make huge batches of this or that ahead of time. The problem comes when I want a snack, not a meal, just a tiny little something. As a woman of Mennonite heritage I am slightly, let us say, tight with my money. So while I love chocolate, I cannot justify spending money to kill myself with sugar in order to support a semi bad habit. I do however need to eat… which is where these small magic bites of delight come in. Healthy, packed with protein, fibre, and best of all chocolate this little snack packs an energetic punch. Or, it just satisfies my chocolate craving guilt free. Either way, it works. Similar to the “no-bake” cookies of my childhood this little ball of wonder is a raw (uncooked) cookie that is simple to throw together and lasts for months in the freezer (if I don’t eat them sooner, but who am I kidding).

mb12

Prep time: 1 hour

Servings: 60

Ingredients.

mb1

3 1/3 c. unsweetened shredded coconut

2 c. almond butter

1 1/2 c. carob or dark chocolate chips

1 1/2 c. finely chopped pecans (or other nut of your choice)

1 c. raisins

3/4 c. cocoa powder

1/3 c. honey (possibly more to taste)

1/4 c. chia seeds

2 tb. organic vanilla

2 tb. maca powder (optional)

1 tb. mesquite powder (optional)

1 tb. coconut oil (as needed)

1/2 c. extremely finely crushed pecans for outer coating

Instructions.

mb2

In a large bowl combine all dry ingredients except the cocoa powder.

mb3

Using a large spoon mix the dry ingredients together well until you can tell that each ingredient is evenly distributed throughout the bowl.

mb4

Add the cocoa powder and mix thoroughly as before.

mb5

Once the dry mix is thoroughly coated in cocoa it is time to add the wet ingredients.

mb6

Using your spoon roughly mix together the wet and dry ingredients until your mixture is in large lumps.

mb7

Now wash your hands and plunge in. Using your fingers drag the dry mixture through the wet lumps over and over again until the entire mixture is blended together and finely stuck together in much smaller lumps.

mb8

Taste a pinch of the mixture to make sure the level of sweetness is acceptable, if needed add more honey and mix into the mixture with your hands. Using your fingers shape the mixture into ping pong sized orbs. If the mixture seems too dry and does not want to form the ping pong shapes add either a tablespoon more honey or a tablespoon of coconut oil and blend into the mixture with your hands before forming the ping pong shapes again.

mb9

Roll the finished orb in your dish of crushed pecans and set aside.

mb10

Continue rolling until all the mixture is gone. There may be some remains at the bottom of the bowl which refuse to stick together, don’t worry no one will know this happened if you quickly eat them with a spoon.

mb13

This recipe makes between 55 to 60 Magic Bites depending on the consistency of the size of each one. Once you have successfully shaped your Magic Bites put them in the fridge or freezer for half an hour to an hour to harden up and then enjoy!

mb11

Leave a Reply

