Banana Pancakes

I work a lot in the summer. In fact over the course of the next few weeks I’ll be working every day for eight hours or more. Yet somehow, you’re reading these words and about to make pancakes. You’re welcome. There are moments where I feel insane for starting a food blog while trying to put myself through University. Where is the time? There is none. At the start of my blog I set out to create intricate masterful recipes that satisfied my need for a challenge. Now I get up early, make a lunch, go to work, come home eat my lunch, go back to work come home after dark and tell myself. “I should cook something.” I will admit it, I’m crazy, however. I am not the only one with a busy lifestyle and for many of my closest friends and family who like me live with a plethora of food allergies we need to eat. No matter how many hours of overtime in a day the need for sustenance remains the same. So over the next few weeks my posts will not be gloriously complicated, instead they will be the very things I bleary eyed in the morning at random throw together for lunch and then realize,”what… this is really good.” Despite my overwhelming desire to sleep I shall push through to bring you something delicious every Saturday or die trying.

Over the past two months I have had a singular obsession, pancakes. Pancakes for breakfast are not only delicious but useful, if you happen to make a few extra there is your dessert at lunch. Yet, because I have vowed that for the first few months every recipe I posted would be purely my own without any outside influence whatsoever my pancake experiments have been… interesting. I can make anything except pancakes that don’t fall apart or taste like mush. Until a few days ago that is. So here miraculously at long last is a simple, delicious pancake recipe for you to try at home too, and you don’t even have to die in the process.

Pan13

Servings: 4-5 Pancakes

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cooking time: 15 minutes

Ingredients.

Pan1

2 lg. eggs

1/2 large banana mashed

2 tb. slightly heaping coconut flour

1/4 c. coconut milk

1/2 tsp. baking soda

Instructions.

Pan2

Pan3

Place all of your ingredients in a small bowl, or as I prefer in a pyrex measuring cup.

Pan4

Using an electric mixer (or your hands and a fork, although the mixer creates a better pancake) beat your pancake batter until it is smooth and lump free.

Pan5

Pan6

Set your batter aside for the moment and preheat large frying pan with coconut oil (or an oil of your choice) until it is too hot to touch. I use medium heat.

Pan7

Once your frying pan is very hot you can begin to pour your batter into the pan. The heat of the pan is important so don’t get impatient and pour it earlier.

Pan8

Pan9

Allow your pancakes to cook for 6 to 7 minutes on the first side, watching for bubbles to form in the batter.

Pan10

After about seven minutes the bubbles should pop and leave your pancakes ready to flip. Test the edge of the pancake with a spatula, if the middle still seems too soft give it another minute or two. If you have excellent spatula skills feel free to flip the pancakes a little earlier but be aware that as the batter rises it likes to poof out or spill when you are trying to flip the pancake.

Pan11

Once flipped over leave your pancake in the pan for another minute or two before transferring to a plate and devouring ravenously.

Pan12Pan14

Enjoy, and happy eating!

Shandi

One thought on “Banana Pancakes

Leave a Reply

