Paleo Crackers

I promised myself I’d never miss a post. I’ve loved cooking all my life. The idea that I through combining ingredients could create something that not only healed and nourished the body but was also artistic was addicting. Everything I do acts as an art form. My way of releasing tension is to escape into the kitchen and begin dumping things in bowls. Sometimes magic happens. After a few years of creating magic, taking photos of it and taunting my friends with them everyone began begging me for recipes. That and my desire to one day write a cook book pushed me towards the creation of a food blog. The longer I spend on my food posts the more I realize that whatever “this” is matters. It matters a lot and I want to keep doing this.

So, I missed a post.

I am both wildly artistic and so painfully practical I irritate almost everyone around me. I spent the past month (20 days) doing nothing but working. I’m a student, I have student debt, graduation is imminent and the panic of “real world” is setting in. I had a choice, I could either sleep or I could miss a post.

I missed a post.

I won’t get all dramatic and say that I’ve betrayed my few readers and myself, but I will say, I missed this. So despite still being so busy I don’t feel like I can come up for air I created a post in thirty minutes. Well, the cooking part took thirty minutes. That may not seem very short to you until you remember; I am also photographing, jotting notes and generally being a perfectionist. So, this recipe for a normal person without a camera should take about 15 or 20 minutes to prepare. See, sometimes my practicality pays off. Next week I’ll create the most mouth-watering dairy free cheesecake you’ve ever laid eyes on, but for now… it’s still summer, have some crackers.

 

Crackers10

 

Ingredients.

Crackers1

1 c. finely ground sesame seeds

½ c. flax meal (the half cup should be a heaping half cup)

½ c. coconut flour

¼ c. coconut milk (have a little extra on the side just in case)

½ c. olive oil

1 ½ tsp. garlic powder

1 ½ tsp. onion powder

1 tsp. oregano

 

Instructions.

Preheat your oven to 375F.

Crackers2

Combine all ingredients except the olive oil in a medium sized mixing bowl. Using a fork gently mash the ingredients together until they are well mixed.

Crackers3

It is now time to add the olive oil. Wash your hands first because things are about to get messy. Pour your oil into the bowl.

Crackers4

Now using your hands knead the mixture together, it should feel sticky but cohesive enough to form a large ball. Feel free to use a teaspoon of extra coconut milk at a time to help pull your dough together. I used a few tablespoons extra.

Crackers5

Once your dough ball is formed it is time to roll out your dough. You can either do this on a floured cookie sheet, or like I did directly on a pizza stone. I’m a little obsessed with using my pizza stone for everything, but there is a reason I’m obsessed. If you have one, use it.

Crackers6

As you roll out your dough you will notice that the edges are messy and jagged, cut them off and add the excess dough to the rest of your cracker base and roll it back in. You’ll want your crackers to be just over a 1/4 of an inch thick.

Crackers7

Once your dough is rolled out you need to cut it into crackers. Since I love eating mine with hummus or using them as taco chips I cut mine fairly large. You don’t need to, if you want to create really small crackers feel free. You could even use cookie cutters to create cute shapes if you wanted.

Crackers8

I like to cut my crackers with a pizza slicer since its continuous movement creates a seamless line. Once you’ve cut the crackers into the desired shapes just stick the entire pan in the oven as is for 25 to 30 minutes depending on how crunchy you want your cracker.

Crackers9

Enjoy and happy eating!

Shandi

Leave a Reply

