Raw White Chocolate Cheesecake (Dairy Free, Vegan, Gluten Free and Paleo)

Good morning dear readers. I’ve been sitting here for thirty minutes staring at my cursor and blaming the contents of my Itunes for my inability to feel adequately inspired to be witty and entertaining before I awe you with a recipe that deserves accolades. Too sarcastic? It’s morning I have more energy than I know what to do with. Months ago while browsing the millions of recipes on the internet I found this faux cheesecake recipe that used cashews, I didn’t exactly follow the recipe but I did use it as a baseline and I really loved the outcome, mostly. I however, am never satisfied with anything I make and am always intent on making it better. Many paleo/vegan recipes use cashews as a base since they provide a creamy rich consistency. I have kept with tradition, so before you keep reading I recommend walking, running, or driving to your nearest grocer or health food store to buy at least two cups of raw cashews.

The summer breeze coming in my window is thoroughly distracting so I’m going to just get to the reason for this post and not keep you waiting. So, without further ado (unless I think of something else interesting) here is the recipe exactly three of my friends have been begging me for.

A side note, the small town I call home in the summers isn’t exactly the centre of new and interesting ideas, therefore vegan white chocolate is nearly impossible to find here. So, I cheated and used two 100g bars of Lindt White Chocolate since it is high quality, but, it does admittedly have some milk ingredients. So, when you’re running out the door for raw cashews 200g of Vegan white chocolate would be a good idea. If you also keep all traces of soy from your diet then I’d recommend buying some cocoa butter and mixing it over low heat with coconut sugar and coconut cream until it reaches the consistency of melted chocolate — however, I have yet to try that, and it is an idea for another day.

White22

 

Ingredients.

White1

2 c. raw cashews

200g. white chocolate

1 c. heavy coconut milk (the top half of the milk when a can of coconut milk is left in the fridge over night, keep the watery extra on the side just in case)

2 tb. (heaping) coconut sugar

1 tb. vanilla

Optional: fresh or frozen fruit, around 2-3 cups

 

Instructions.

White2

Place the raw cashews in a medium sized mixing bowl and cover them with cold filtered water until they are all completely submerged. Set a timer for 20 minutes, this is how long you will soak the cashews. Soaking the cashews will cause them to soften and expand allowing for the creamy texture of your cheesecake.

White3

White4

While you wait combine the coconut milk, coconut sugar and vanilla. Coconut sugar does not like to dissolve so you will need to use egg beaters, or like I did, my magic bullet. Blend the ingredients together until the coconut sugar is completely dissolved and the coconut milk is frothy. Now set

White6

Once your cashews have finished soaking, drain the water away. They should appear a little lighter and somewhat bigger. If you squeeze them they’ll give a little as well.

White7

Now it’s time to pull out the power tools. I use my food processor for the next few steps although a large high powered blender will work just as well.

White8

Pour the coconut milk mixture into your food processor first, it helps having all the liquid on the bottom so that the blade has more give when trying to break the cashews down. Now add your cashews.

White9

Leave the cashews sitting in the milk mixture to soak a little longer while you go to melt your white chocolate.

White11

White chocolate has a low melting point so melt your chocolate on very low heat slowly, stirring often so the sugar doesn’t begin burning to the bottom of the pan.

White12

Now gently using a spatula scrap the melted chocolate into the food processor with the rest of your ingredients.

White13

Now begin mixing all the ingredients together until they become smooth.

White14

If you need to add a tablespoon or two of the watery remains of the coconut milk feel free. Continue blending until the consistency is smooth to the taste with no granules remaining.

White15White16

Now it is time to begin assembling your cheesecake. I used a 8.5″ by 8.5″ pan but one can easily use a pie plate or even several smaller dishes. I recommend using glass as it is easiest to freeze and remove the cake from. If you’re planning on using fruit in your cake, now is the time to prep it or pull it out of the freezer. I used fresh local frozen blueberries.

White10

I portioned out about half of the cake mixture into the bottom of my pan.

White17

Then I topped the bottom half with frozen blueberries.

White18

I followed the blueberries with the rest of the cake mixture.

White19

White21

Once you’ve finished assembling your batter with any fruit you desire it is now time to cover the pan with plastic wrap and place it in the freezer for 4-5 hours or overnight. Allow the cake to thaw for 10-12 minutes before cutting into it and serving.

White23

Enjoy and happy eating!

Shandi

Leave a Reply

