Indian Gingerbread

Gingerbread14

Gingerbread13

Gingerbread10

As a recent university graduate, I am well versed in procrastination. I have learned to perfectly time everything to the last minute, at which moment I rise to the occasion with such passion and finesse that the ensuing symphony of words I compose could bring a stone to tears. Or at least that’s what I told myself daily. Of course in order to become a master procrastinator, one needs ways in which to procrastinate long term. I found my vice. Bollywood. I’m a coffee and conversation kind of girl. I like thinking, silence, and smouldering glances. Well, okay I don’t really like smouldering glances. When someone’s eyes are on fire I’d rather put them out with a timely bucket of water, not watch them suffering. I’m not a psychopath. Anyway. I suppose one could call me “artsy,” I love colour, creativity, and culture. The three C’s of being a cultured English major (alliteration is my other vice). Back to the story at hand. One day while avoiding a particularly long paper I suggested to my man that we watch a Bollywood movie, since Netflix had them in no short supply and none that I could find was shorter than three hours. Procrastinator level: expert. I fell in love. I did. The colour, the music, the vibrant innocence yet intensity of the story lines. I found a texture, a taste that filled me with a richness – like pastry – or dark chocolate. The complexity of characters, the interwoven flavours of a world I have never been a part of drew me in, romanced me, and left me undeniably changed. My favourite spice lately has been cumin, as cumin is a staple in curry and curry is a staple in Indian cuisine. I take my obsessions to the kitchen too.

While casually perusing the internet and Pinterest one evening I discovered that So Delicious Dairy Free, my favourite brand of all time and space, was yet again putting on a recipe contest and I knew in my deepest depths that I must compete. In reality, any excuse I can find to use So Delicious is an excuse worth taking for myself. I realize that I sound like a infomercial. Moving on. In response to this culinary challenge I took all the music, dance, and array of colour I could from the Bollywood films I love and poured them into a childhood classic. Gingerbread. I mixed the sweet spice of my childhood with the intensity of Indian spice: adding cayenne, cinnamon, and cumin to bring a deepened flavour profile that tasted seductively of curry while romancing with the sweet richness of ginger and molasses.  It is perfect eaten alone or topped with your favourite lemon or caramel sauce. Of course the completely adventurous can top it with So Delicious Vanilla Bean coconut ice cream.

Gingerbread2

Gingerbread3

Gingerbread6

Gingerbread5

Gingerbread7

Gingerbread8

Ingredients. Prep time: 15 min. Bake time: 35 min.
Dry.
2 c. almond flour
1/2 c. coconut flour
2 tb. ginger
1 tb. cinnamon
1 tsp. cloves
1 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1/4 tsp. cayenne
1/2 tsp. sea salt
2 1/2 tsp. baking soda
Wet.
4 large eggs
1 1/2 c. fancy molasses
1/2 c. So Delicious Coconut Milk
1 tbs. apple cider vinegar
1 tsp. vanilla extract
Utensils.
large mixing bowl
medium mixing bowl
measuring cups and spoons
9″x9″ cake pan or 2 loaf pans
wooden stirring spoon
fork
spatula
Instructions.
  • pre-heat your oven to 350F
  • in a large bowl combine dry ingredients and mix thoroughly with a fork until no lumps of soda or flour remain
  • in another medium sized bowl combine all wet ingredients except apple cider vinegar until smooth and consistent (adding the ACV too soon curdles the coconut milk)
  • add the apple cider vinegar to the combined wet ingredients, mix thoroughly
  • gently pour the wet mix into the dry ingredients, quickly and gently fold the wet mix into the dry mix until the batter is thoroughly combined (the ACV acts as an acid which reacts with and activates the soda creating more air bubbles, stirring too much or too slowly allows all the bubbles to escape creating a flat batter)
  • pour the batter into a 9″x9″ cake pan or two loaf pans
  • place in your pre-heated oven and bake at 350F for 25-35 minutes or until a knife can cleanly pierce the gingerbread

Gingerbread12

Enjoy and happy eating!

Shandi

3 thoughts on “Indian Gingerbread

  1. I made this tonight I could not resist since I didn’t get any taste of ginger this past holiday season … It turned out sooooooo SOFT and fluffy and the BEST gingerbread flavor ever ! ( not too sweet not to sharp ) thank you for the perfect paleo recipe !! I think the secret really is the ACV and not stirring too slow or too much when you combine, it was so bubbly and light the batter !

    • That is so exciting for me to hear! My family has loved this recipe each time I’ve made it but I’m always a little bit nervous that others won’t get the same results I have. You are so welcome. I love making kitchen magic that others can share with me. =)

  2. Pingback: Dairy-Free 3-Course Contest Round-Up: Over 175 Recipes!

Leave a Reply

