Fried Chickpea Flatbread

Chickpea11

Chickpea10

It has been five years since I cut all wheat and cereals from my diet. In the beginning I went a little gluten free crazy – if it said “gluten free” I ate it. Nothing ever really measured up, but I had just learned that I couldn’t have something. I always want what I can’t have. Especially when it comes to food. I had so many dark nights of the soul over my new-found but ever-present food allergies and intolerances. How would I eat out? How would I survive? Was I going to starve to death? Was the only food left in my life salad?

I WAS GOING TO DIE.

I didn’t die. Just in case you were wondering. 

Then after a year of obsessive eating of gluten free pizza that tasted like cardboard, rice crispie treats that may as well been called “sugar bombs,” and occasional only-if-I-have-to-salad I learned that I couldn’t eat starches either. No potatoes. No rice. No corn. My life was over. No more cardboard pizza. No more chalky bread. I WAS GOING TO DIE.

I still didn’t die. I know, you’re in suspense over there.

I’ve heard a lot of stories about how going gluten free changed lives. I have friends who have those stories. That isn’t my story. The first two years of my food elimination journey were absolute total and utter – hell. I cut out wheat, I lost weight, I was happier – sometimes. I was always tired. That bone deep tired where you can’t even function. All. The. Time. If I didn’t eat every two hours my vision would blur, my face would go numb, I’d start shaking uncontrollably and saying irrational things like – “I can sit in this chair for twenty-four hours without moving, why would I move, I don’t need to move, I’m not crazy – I AM FINE. NO I DO NOT NEED TO EAT.”

I needed to eat.

Needless to say, that year was a bust. After cutting out starches I switched to a much smaller university that was just as prepared for my new diet as I was (read not at all, like, not even close). I ate salad for a year. And fried eggs. I lost more weight, most of it muscle. I was always hungry. I was always anxious. I was always tired. I’d have mental breakdowns and eat sugar just to eat something that wasn’t salad. That year was a bust too.

By year three I realized I needed to cook for myself. So I transferred to my third university (I know, I know, why on earth was I adventuring when I was so sick – I don’t know if you’ve noticed, I wasn’t in my right mind). That was when I discovered food all over again. Foods I’d loathed as a child – mostly beans – became my best friends. I discovered chickpeas and nothing was ever the same. Ever.

That was a pretty long way of saying – I love chickpeas. I really, really, love chickpeas. I put them in soup. I cream them. I put them in casserole. I fry them and eat them on salad. I bake them and eat them like popcorn. I put hummus on my omelettes. I put hummus on my chicken. I have been known to eat hummus with a spoon. (For those of you who don’t realize, hummus is made out of chickpeas).

So here to celebrate my crazy love affair with chickpeas is a deep fried chickpea flat-bread (and to make some waves in the So Delicious 3 Course Recipe Contest). Make it savoury with garlic or sweeten it up with some honey and cinnamon. Make the bread large and use it in a sandwich or make it dollar sized (Canadian loonie sized people, not a dollar bill, calm down) and eat it with a dipping sauce (like I did for this post, you won’t regret it I promise). Download the recipe in a pdf version by clicking the hyperlink (here), or scroll down to read it off the page!

Light, delicate, and crumbly like pastry – why would you miss the gluten-starchy food you ate before.

I don’t. And hey, I had to go through a breakdown to get here.

Chickpea3

Chickpea2

Chickpea5

Chickpea7

Chickpea8

Ingredients. Prep time: 15 min. Cook time: 15 min.
Chickpea Flatbread. 3/4 c. pre-cooked chickpeas
1/4 c. coconut flour
2 large eggs
1/2 c. So Delicious Coconut milk
2 tsp. garlic powder
1-2 c. oil of choice
Marinara Dipping Sauce.5 1/2 oz. tomato paste
4 tb. water
1 tb. honey
1 tsp. apple cider vinegar
1 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning
1/2 tsp. dried parsley
1 tsp. garlic powder
1/4 tsp. sea salt
cayenne (to taste)
Utensils.food processor or blender
large frying pan
spatulas
small pot
measuring cups and spoons
Instructions.
Marinara Dipping Sauce:

  • combine all ingredients in a small saucepan and bring to a boil
  • stir constantly and allow to simmer for ten minutes
  • take off of heat and allow to cool or eat warm
  • (this sauce is GREAT for pizza, pasta, chicken or anything so don’t limit yourself)

Chickpea Flatbread:

  • put all ingredients into your food processor
  • pulse ingredients until the batter is smooth
  • let the batter sit for two minutes so the coconut flour can expand
  • ALERT: you will be putting your batter in a COLD pan, do not pour oil into pan yet
  • spoon the batter into a large frying pan and smooth out to desired size
  • AFTER spooning batter into pan pour oil into the pan until it covers the bottom
  • turn on your burner, medium heat works best
  • as the oil heats it will begin to bubble and be absorbed by the flatbread
  • after about half of the oil has been absorbed, or three minutes, gently turn the bread with a spatula
  • cook on the last side for 2-3 minutes or until golden brown
  • if you have remaining batter spoon it into the pan before adding more oil

Enjoy, and happy eating!

Shandi

One thought on “Fried Chickpea Flatbread

  1. Pingback: Dairy-Free 3-Course Contest Round-Up: Over 175 Recipes!

Leave a Reply

