Crazy Vegan Lasagne

Crazy Vegan Lasagne

Vegan Lasagna 1

Vegan Lasagna 2

Vegan Lasagna 3

Vegan Lasagna 5

Vegan Lasagna 4

Vegan Lasagna 8

Vegan Lasagna 9

 

Okay. You’re probably wondering why this lasagne is crazy. Blame my cousin. I have a really cool, hip, stylish and fantastic cousin that is currently living in Brazil. And anyway, he will probably laugh hysterically at this next statement, but whatever. He’s a jerk.

So. Drumroll.

 

I’m a vegan guys.

 

I know, I know. Why would he find this so funny? Because I’ve only been a vegan for a week (which he says doesn’t count as actually being a vegan, like I said, jerk).  I should vanquish him with my vegan superpowers. If you get that last statement, I love you.

 

I’ve toyed with becoming a vegan before. I mean, is there any bigger statement of being an individual?

Don’t answer that. 

 

I’ve been avoiding red meat and pork for the most part for the past four years. It just doesn’t seem to like my stomach. One man’s steak is my, dear god please kill me now. But like most people I thought, golly gee guys I can’t eat wheat, or most starches if I stop eating meat too… I’ll starve!

And if you’ve learned anything about me from reading my relentless ramblings it’s that — I really, really hate being hungry. I write a  food blog. Of course I LOVE food.

I always thought that if I stopped eating meat I’d get really sick, curl up and die. Honestly I did. I don’t know why I thought that, the animals I was eating were doing just fine eating plan-

Wait. I’m poor. I can’t afford organic grass fed free range meat. So basically, the animals I was eating were eating, grain. GRAIN. The thing that you know, I’m allergic to. The thing that made me clinically depressed, chronically overweight and utterly apathetic for 18 years of my life. (You can get nit picky with me and specify that flour is made out of wheat, but I won’t care. Cereals are cereals in my body. They all do the exact same thing. Kill me.)

There are a billion reasons to go vegan. There are another billion reasons that it won’t work for some people. I’m okay with that. I am a big (figuratively, I’m 5′ 2″ in real life) enough person to realize that how I eat is really great for me — and NOT everyone else on the planet. All I can tell you is that in the past week I have had more energy than I’ve had in years. I’m losing weight (which if you refer to my past post is EXCITING because that means my poor poor liver is finally cleaning itself out). And, best of all. I’m not even hungry.

By the way, my cousin is REALLY excited that I linked to his blog, so I’m going to do it again. I know, aren’t I the best cousin ever? Anyway, click HERE.

Back to my exciting life. I haven’t been hungry. Not even a little bit. Why you ask? You poor soul, let me enlighten you. VEGETABLES. They are the most fantastic food you’ll ever eat.

If you don’t possess hemp flakes you can substitute with ground hemp hearts, or if you’re brave, ground flax. Strangely (and I’ve had two people other than myself say this, so I’m not crazy) despite its lack of any vegan cheese substitute (did I mention I’m still paleo….and vegan) this tastes like the real thing. Cheese included. You won’t miss anything with this paleo vegan miracle. Get your magical pdf for Crazy Vegan Lasagne here, or keep on scrolling.

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients.     Prep time: 20 min  Bake time: 35 min  Utensils.
1 large eggplant

1 large onion

1 ripe avocado

2 cups spinach

4 cups sliced mushrooms

1 cup hemp flakes

2 tbs olive oil

1/4 cup lemon juice

4 cups marinara sauce

 large casserole dish

food processor

oven

Instructions.
  1. Pre-heat oven to 365F
  2. Chop onion finely and put in a pan with olive oil and mushrooms, turn on medium heat, sauté
  3. Slice eggplant in 1/2″ strips
  4. In a food processor combine lemon juice, avocado and spinach until well mixed
  5. Once onions and mushrooms have been well browned and started to caramelize remove from heat
  6. In a large casserole dish begin layering ingredients, marinara, eggplant, onion mixture and hemp
  7. Once you reach the midpoint of your dish or your ingredients, spread the spinach mixture over the middle and continue layering until all ingredients have been used up
  8. Place in the oven and bake for 35 minutes
  9. EAT! Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

