Churros de Coco Frito y Budín Chocolate

Vegan-Deep-Fried-Donuts-and-Chocolate-Pudding header

Vegan-Deep-Fried-Donuts-and-Chocolate-Pudding 12

Vegan-Deep-Fried-Donuts-and-Chocolate-Pudding 1

Vegan-Deep-Fried-Donuts-and-Chocolate-Pudding 2

Vegan-Deep-Fried-Donuts-and-Chocolate-Pudding 3

Deep Fried Donuts and Chocolate Pudding 5

Vegan-Deep-Fried-Donuts-and-Chocolate-Pudding 4

Vegan-Deep-Fried-Donuts-and-Chocolate-Pudding 8

Vegan-Deep-Fried-Donuts-and-Chocolate-Pudding 7

Vegan-Deep-Fried-Donuts-and-Chocolate-Pudding 9

Vegan-Deep-Fried-Donuts-and-Chocolate-Pudding 10

Vegan-Deep-Fried-Donuts-and-Chocolate-Pudding 11

 

 

Spring Fling Dairy-Free Recipe Contest - $1000 Grand Prize; Two $250 Runner-Up Prizes Do you ever have those moments where you decide you’re going to make chickpea fries because you made them a week ago and they were the most delicious thing you’d ever eaten in your entire life and instead you accidentally make a deep-fried doughnut that makes you so happy inside you didn’t know what to do with yourself?

You don’t? Oh, it’s just me then? Wow.. you must live a really sad life. Let me help you!

I have a pretty short attention span for life. I can sit through a three-hour documentary, spend six hours cooking or write a 5000 word paper in one sitting — but once I’ve done it I move on. I will watch every season of a tv show obsessively and then refuse to watch the finale episode. And it won’t bother me. My short attention span is for repetition or completion, I don’t like repeating things. The majority of the recipes I create I created for the pure joy of artistry and newness — I’ll never make them again. Ever. Not because they were mediocre, no, because they were fantastic. I find joy in creating near perfection, not in repeating it endlessly. Failure inspires me to try harder, to infuse more creativity into my cooking methodology… and well quite honestly failure helped me create a recipe I might even repeat (in moderation, one a year or something) because it is not only a work of art but now I will have cravings. Yes I am bragging. Yes they are that good. Yes you need to stop whatever you are doing and make them right now.

Before you tell me that pastry isn’t your thing. Before you tell me you can’t have rice, or corn, or potato flour — let me respond by saying. I can’t either.

These delicate, crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside delicious little pastries are made with one flour only — chickpea flour. I know, I’m amazed too. I’m also in love with chickpea flour and will probably use it in every recipe I create for the next year or two. You have been warned.

Many of my youngest memories come flavored with the scent of Venezuelan air, the sounds of open markets, colorful clothes pressing between stalls housing everything from the scent of raw meat to potatoes, and of course ten thousand radios all vying for my attention. There are also memories of food, fried foods to be exact. Empanadas, arepas, fried platano chips, deep-fried ice cream coated in a crunchy cinnamon infused pastry. My heart is latin and incidentally my food often reminds me. While creating these delicate little doughnuts I felt compelled to add cinnamon, I wasn’t sure why, I wasn’t sure it would taste good but I had to on some fundamental level. The first time I dipped a hot, crunchy, doughnut into the raw chocolate pudding I felt like I was standing in the middle of a Venezuelan market as a small child. The flavors of  my past reminded me of where my passion for food, music and crazy dancing by myself comes from.

I have never eaten a Churro, and now I probably never will — however I had a sense in the back of my mind that what I had created while uniquely my own was reminiscent of something I’d experienced before. It tasted like Spanish the way it rested on my tongue. I googled Churros. Churros are sometimes served for breakfast with a thick hot chocolate for dipping, some are made of potato flour — from Mexico to Spain each Churro has its own unique attribute. Deep fried pastry with a hint of cinnamon and a lot of soul.

And then I made the chocolate pudding…..

Seriously though, the pudding alone is good enough to eat by the spoon from a bowl and never stop. Wait, that’s probably I just ate the entire bowl for breakfast.

Oops, I’ll just make more — it only takes five minutes.

I fried my accidental Churros in coconut oil to imbue them with the delicate floral scent and flavor of coconut. Coconut oil is a very delicate and light oil that creates a very fast crisp on the outside of a pastry when the oil is hot enough, this allowed my delicious inventions to fill with a multitude of air bubbles creating both a soft inside and a perfect way to soak up the chocolate pudding.

While the ingredients in this delicious dessert are very simple the techniques involved can be a little harrying if you don’t have the proper equipment. I used a deep fryer and a batter dispenser to create my pastries without burning myself (I learned the hard way, the second time I made them I used a large sauce pan and poured the batter with a spoon… then I got a third degree splatter burn under my nose…learn from me). If you do not have access to a deep fryer or a batter dispenser make sure the saucepan you use is relatively deep, that you are using enough oil (don’t skimp) and that your method of pouring batter involves distance from the oil itself with a ladle (not a tablespoon like I used, seriously, learn from me).

Download a fantastic pdf full of ingredients and instructions here or keep on scrolling for more!

 

Ingredients. Prep time: 30 min. Cook time: 60 min.
Churros
2 c. coconut flour
3/4 c. coconut palm sugar
1 1/4 c. So Delicious Original Coconut Milk
2 tbs. vanilla
1 tsp. cinnamon
4-5 c. coconut oil
Pudding
 1 1/2 c. So Delicious Original Coconut Milk
1 1/4 c. softened dates
1/2 c. cocoa powder
1 tbs. vanilla
1/4 tsp. sea salt
Utensils
Large Saucepan or Deep Fryer
Food Processor or Blender
Batter dispenser
Spatulas
Mixing bowl
Measuring cups and spoons
Instructions.
1. Combine all Churro ingredients except coconut oil in a mixing bowl until smooth, place in refrigerator and keep it sitting until needed
2. Place all pudding ingredients in a blender, blend until smooth stopping to stir if the blender become stuck
3. Pour the pudding into a dish and place in the refrigerator until needed
4. Prepare your large saucepan or deep fryer, scoop and measure coconut oil in and then begin to heat
5. In a deep fryer heat oil to 170F, in a saucepan on the stove heat oil on medium heat for five minutes or so and then test by pouring about a teaspoon of batter into the oil, if the batter begins to sizzle cook and float to the surface within seconds the oil is hot enough – of the batter sticks to the bottom and loses shape your oil still needs to heat for a few more minutes
6. When using hot oil use all necessary precautions – fry in a  very deep saucepan or fryer, wear long sleeves and dispense batter using a dispenser or ladle, do not put your hands, face or any other body part near the oil
7. Once the oil is heated begin gently dispensing batter about a teaspoon at a time into the oil a few inches apart, try not to fry more than 5 Churros at a time so as not to cool your oil
8. Cook on the first side for 60 seconds and then using a long-handled spoon gently turn the Churro over and fry it on the other side for 30-45 seconds
9. Remove from the oil and place on a plate prepared with paper towel to absorb excess oil – allow them to cool for 2-3 minutes and before serving warm with the chocolate pudding
10. Enjoy!!
Leave a Reply

