Summer Soup: Red Pepper Garlic

 

Summer Soup Red Pepper Garlic Vegan and Paleo 2

Summer Soup Red Pepper Garlic Vegan and Paleo 1

Summer Soup Red Pepper Garlic Vegan and Paleo 3

Summer Soup Red Pepper Garlic Vegan and Paleo 4

 

It’s hot outside. Some days have even hit 104F (I know I’m Canadian, but Fahrenheit is more dramatic in the summer). When it’s hot I lose all interest in things like hot stoves, kitchens and well really.. I don’t feel like eating. I exist on smoothies and salad. There are really only so many smoothie recipes I can post before I feel like a food fraud. (Not to offend any smoothie blogs out there.) I actually shouldn’t admit this, but I’m pretty sure I got this post ready to post a month ago. And then. I didn’t. I got me some heat exhaustion, and I covered a tiny guitar in rhinestones. Because, summer.

I don’t really know of many people that want to eat hot food in sweltering heat (except my crazy sister who drinks tea). So I created a cream soup that you can chill in your fridge and eat on those evenings you want something a little heavier than salad. Bursting with bright flavours this soup is as delicious as it is simple to make, and while it does involve a hot stove it doesn’t take that long. I promise! It’s too hot to sit here writing so I’ll just attach my handy little pdf or like always you can keep on scrolling!

 

Ingredients.     Prep time: 25 min. +  4 hours   Cook time: 15 minutes
 
  
Utensils.
1 large white onion chopped
2 heads of broccoli quartered
1 red pepper halved
1 yellow pepper halved
2 cloves of garlic chopped
2 vegetable bouillon cubes
1/4 c. olive oil
1 c. boiling water
1-2 c. almond milk (to taste)
salt to taste
sealable glass container
medium saucepan
blender
Instructions.
  1. In a large saucepan combine all ingredients except almond milk
  2. Bring to a simmer and cook until all vegetables are tender and easily poked with a fork
  3. In a blender cream cooked veggies and almond milk
  4. Chill in the refrigerator for 4 hours
  5. Serve and enjoy! 

 

Leave a Reply

